Hand Tools Archive

Subject:
Stirring the smoothing vs. sanding pot..

David Weaver
...OK, i'm not really stirring it. Bill and Richard and I have had an offline (online, different online?) discussion via email about this because once again, I can be goaded into testing almost anything. IF there's some fruit, then I can be goaded into testing it and really wasting my time.

But in this case, there are two reasons that I like finish planing:
1) I can do it quickly. If i ever have to sand something, I can generally plane well enough on flat surfaces to sand with 220 grit and have zero defects
2) I like the way it looks while I'm doing it, and it doesn't excite asthma, burn through consumables or get a layer of dust everywhere

But I have to admit, that I can only get relatively minor differences in surfaces on test pieces that I've done.

So, I'm laying down the challenge to everyone - if you're good at finish planing, as I consider myself to be - I'm not good at furniture making, but good at finish planing - do some A/Bs with pieces to see if you can get a solid significant difference in a really well finished piece with 220 grit sanding vs planing (Scrape a third if you want) and then apply something like a french polish (a preference of mine for this kind of testing as you can get a dry-ish gloss finish on a test board in 20 minutes - no BS faffing around with bits that re-absorbed and sanding)

I may remember to start building a small library of different pieces, but this isn't a test I'm going to undertake now.

My initial conclusion - if I'm looking for something out of wood (like the nuance in this spruce, which is immensely pleasing to me and an actual guitar buyer might not care about), it seems like the result is about 90% wood selection and about 10% planing.

https://i.imgur.com/7ujtx3j.jpg