Hand Tools Archive

Subject:
In defense of the Double Iron wooden plane..

david weaver
It's no secret that I've taken a fascination with building double iron wooden planes out of beech. Years ago, there was a long discussion here about the shortcomings of double iron beech planes, and as far as the later planes that may have been made in haste or worn out when "experts" go them, I can't really discuss those. they frustrated me when I was a beginner, too.

Building these planes and learning from some good examples of them

The descriptions of the double iron plane shortcomings were thus (many from Larry):
* the planes were hastily made
* the cap irons created a problem with the wedge fingers where there was a choke point at the corners, and the fingers have to terminate at the top of the cap iron. The choke point forces a user to clip the corners of the iron to avoid clogging, reducing the effective width of the plane.
* it's not possible to have a tight mouth or a closely following wear because the wear in either of those situations becomes a clogging point for chips coming off of a closely set cap iron

Not to mention some extra steps have in that you need to mortise another slot in the bed with enough room for lateral movement, and you have to carve a slot in the wedge as most english cap irons have a large protrusion sticking off of the top of the cap iron.

Here's what I've found after building a half a dozen of these wedged planes (actually 7 now), and before I built the first, I went on a buying spree of buying high quality older double iron planes and examining the ones that worked well (that included planes that had tight mouths and wide open mouths). Invariably, all of the very tight planes except for one were made in england (the one US make was early-mid 1800s - I think it may have been a maker "lamb" (there were several using that name).