Hand Tools Archive

Subject:
Re: Early note on Atoma 400

Hank Knight
Hi, Wiley,

Like everybody else, I've tried a half dozen sharpening regimens, beginning with cheap Arkansas stones in plastic boxes. i graduated to more expensive ones in wooden boxes, then to scary sharp, Norton water stones and a nice natural honyama for my Japanese blades. Somewhere in there I bought a Tormek, but it fell into disuse and has been stored for a long time. I didn't like all the maintenance and mess that went with water stones, so I decided to go back to oil stones. They don't shed goop and don't require regular flattening. I had a nice Norton coarse crystalon and medium India combo stone. I ordered a surgical black Arkansas for my finish stone. It was OK, but it didn't give me a polished finish like my 8,000 Norton water stone. I added a horse butt strop charged with green crayon and that took me to the 8,000+ level and I was happy. But I managed to drop my black Arkansas and break it in half. I got in touch with Hall's to order another one and they had an odd sized, but large, translucent Arkansas; so I bought it in lieu of the black. I've already discussed my flattening trials, so I won't go into them here. Suffice it to say that I found the translucent very user friendly. It cuts relatively fast for an oil stone and leaves a very even, fine finish - better then the surgical black stone I had. That's why I've been patient with flattening it; I like the stone a lot. From the translucent to a horse butt strop charged with green crayon gives me a very nice edge, one that is perfectly satisfactory for my work. And it's a lot less messy and maintenance intensive than my water stones.