Turning

Subject:
Holly - my experience *PIC*
Response To:
Holly ()

John K Jordan
>>>How much of a pith does Holly have? Is it likely to crack as it dries, like Maple? A friend just brought me two large trunk pieces of Holly and I'm unsure about how to cut and dry them. Any advice is appreciated.

Jerry, I love to use holly and have sawn and dried a fair amount. I am no expert but here are some things I've learned:

- As mentioned, Holly is known to stain and turn ugly but can be bleached. It is notoriously difficult to dry. To keep it white the experts (Gene Wengert, etc) recommend cutting the tree ONLY in the dead of winter when it is dormant, processing into boards/blanks, and drying. The holly I've cut in winter and sealed well with anchorseal has dried white. That I've cut at any other time of the year has turned ugly grey/greenish grey. Wengert also recommends drying fast which means a kiln but all mine is air dried.

- A gentleman on another forum chronicled his extensive chemical experiments to try to keep holly cut in warm weather from staining. None were successful.

- Holly is also notoriously unstable as it dries. I've had turning blanks crack down sides when cut a little too close to the pith. I've had longer pieces cut close to and at an angle to the pith cup, bow, and twist in "exciting" ways. (The angle and proximity to the pith almost predicts the type and amount of distortion.) How close is too close? Good question - probably depends on the size of the log as well as the differences in individual trees.