Hand Tools

Subject:
Re: Hand Tool Aids (this topic)

Gary B.
First of all, thanks for all who've responded thus far. Perhaps it would be helpful to understand where I'm coming from. At the risk of offending purists with offensive (man made) materials, I'll give you an example straight from our shop.

As a shop manager, I feel it's my duty to ensure we're producing quality products, as fast as we reasonably can. This allows us to remain competitive in today's economy. I doubt it was much different 150 years or more ago. There was always more than one shop around, and always someone willing to do it for less than you. I'm guessing you needed to focus on quality, with a reasonable price instead of competing on price alone. Unless you were lucky and perched at the top of the pyramid, doing work that few could, and even fewer were willing and able to pay for.

Few are willing to work for less, so things that save time, save money. Innovation and continuous improvement provides the competitive edge required. Wood and Shop shows some video's inside the Anthony Hay Shop at Colonial williamsburg. They mention how progressive that particular shop was compared to most in the area at the time. The example I believe was being able to cut their own veneer in house.