Turning Archive 2005

Subject:
For the accident archives

CapeMayMike
>As Ray Barrone's father would say...."Holy Crap Marie!".

I'm a fairly safe woodworker. I've had accidents but they've always been minor nicks and scrapes. The worst was the time I drove a screw through two boards and then into my hand with a screw gun, pretty dumb but fortunately not too severe of an injury. My relatively good safety record came to a screeching halt today and thanks to whoever it is that looks after meatheads I avoided the severe injury that could have been a result of my lapse at the lathe.

I was sanding a pepper mill which was held in an Axminster chuck, using a strip of 240 grit like a shoeshine rag, on my 3 hp Vicmarc. I was wearing a very loose fitting pocket style tee shirt. I rarely wear pocket shirts when on the lathe for the obvious reason, I don't want a pocket full of shavings. I'm leaning into and over the work and in a split second I'm violently yanked into the lathe. I weigh 275 lbs so it takes a bit of power to yank me violently. I instinctively pull back while my tee shirt is torn completely from my body, turning me 360 degrees, wrapping about the chuck.

This entire fiasco occurred in less than 5 seconds. After an inspection to insure that all limbs and digits were still intact and functioning properly I found that I had a large abrasion on my left side upper abdomen, where it impacted the chuck and a second less severe one on my right side.

I unwound the shredded and twisted tee shirt from the chuck. Apparently, while leaning over the work, the chuck caught the pocket and the lively dance insued. The shirt is a sight to behold. Both arms are torn open, as is the neck down to the waist. It has the appearance of one narrow long rag.