Turning Archive 2004

Subject:
Image editing tips (LONG)

Mike Schwing from Md.
>Nobody asked for this, but in response to several/many requests both here and in email, I have detailed my basic procedures for preparing an image for upload. If this helps even one person, great. If not, thats OK, too. I am not a pro, but I have been doing this for many years for several different hobbies and sports. Comments, additions, improvements all welcomed, maybe we can improve on this and get it posted as an article somewhere....
--------------------------------------------
Photo editing/posting tips.

I possess nothing other than self claimed proficiency at photo posting on the web, but enough folks have asked me for help that I thought I’d put some tips together that I employ when composing/editing/posting pictures for website posting.

These tips are written around a few popular woodturning sites in particular, including Woodcentral (www.woodcentral.com) and the AAW website (www.woodturner.org)

Why so much detail, time spent in photo composure/editing? The way we communicate our work with each other on the woodturning webs, in effect the language we use, is through photos. A clear, well composed and displayed photo can show our work’s profiles, finishes, details, and flaws in ways that a poorly composed one cannot. Why not use the best language possible?

I won’t go into actually taking the photo because I am far from qualified to discuss that. See John Lucas, Jamie Donaldson or other photography experts in the web wood turning community for help with that topic. The only thing I will suggest about the photo taking subject is to save your images in a file format that will allow for the highest quality you can reasonably store on your camera, TIFF format is great, but has excessive file size requirements (5meg or more), the SHQ (super high quality) on my Olympus camera produces very acceptable images at a few hundred Kb each. Standard quality will limit your editing success.