Turning Archive 2004

Subject:
Human Nature to question thi? I think not. (Long)

Dinyar Chavda
>Dave:

At the outset, let me say that I plan to use your method, and appreciate your sharing it with us.

Until the thread on Human Nature, I thought that you had handled all questions as being just that--questions for information. Your answers were always pleasantly stated and informative. On the other hand, so were the questions---I have reread the questions in the prior thread (I missed the chat room on Monday), and I don't think that ANY of the people were accusing you of creating a "perpetual motion machine".

Somehow the questions that deal with trying to nderstand why your technique works has gotten translated into "why the person should believe what you say".

Two points about that. I cannot speak for any of the others, but, as one of the questioners, I am always interested in the WHYs of things, even (particularly?) things that I have no formal background in. I have usually found that most people do not object to such questions--in fact it is often seen as a mark of interest in what they do. I did not grow up working with wood, and so, I have to think about a lot of things that come naturally to others because of their past experience. (For example, when I read your initial posting of "Drying rough turned bowls quickly", I thought that you essentially put the bowl in a bag--that's what "wrapping" implies to me. It was only in a response you made to a later question that I realized that you meant to only cover the outide). I find that if I know why something works, I can apply it better. So, my questions re details of the process as well as the "chemistry" were questions for information. If Russ Fairfield is reading this, he will confirm that I keep asking him questions about something, not because I doubt what he says (quite the opposite), but because I have to process things, and each question that's answered leads to new one.