Turning Archive 2004

Subject:
Help with UV inhibitor research

Steven D. Russell
>Hello to the group,

For several years, I have been experimenting (Yes, I know, I experiment with just about everything :-) with ways woodturners can forestall the damaging effects of UV light and similar related colour loss in susceptible exotic and local timbers.

Some of the natural colour extractives in timber are light (UV) sensitive while others, are sensitive to other things in the environment that can cause colour loss. Without getting into a long winded explanation of UV degradation and other related colour loss issues, there are ways to forestall colour loss in timbers and I have been testing and researching this for more than seven years, with particular attention to the specific needs of the woodturning community.

I will have an article in "Woodturning" magazine (the English publication) early next year on this very subject and will reveal the results of my long-term testing. You can help... I have been testing lots of different timbers and my ways to reduce the colour loss through various UV resistant primary and secondary protocols. My research has produced amazing results an a wide variety of timbers, but more needs to be done...

While I always maintain a large supply of exotics and my local timbers, there are no doubt others that you work with that you find loosing their colour very fast, or changing into colours that you do not find pleasing. If you have a local timber that you want me to include in the testing, prior to my publication of the article, please let me know. I will do my best to obtain these timbers and run them through my established UV resistant protocols and supplemental colour loss prevention protocols and report on the results.