Turning Archive 2007

Subject:
My Take On The Turning Chat Room - Long

Steve Russell
>Hello to the group,

I recently posted a message "Call for Votes... Please Let Your Voice Be Heard!" on the board about possible chat topics for the Wednesday night Turning Chat and it received several very good responses. I was unable to respond to them as posted, because I was working through a huge backlog in my studio that developed while I was vacationing in Hawaii for two weeks.

Some of the members feel that the moderating should be tighter in the chats... I have tried to be a gentle persuader and keep things on track. Most of the time, I think this has worked well, but a time or two, it has not. That is a failing on my part as the buck stops with me. I never moderated anything before the Turning Chat, but I offered to help Ellis and WC and try to learn as I went along. I'm still learning how to do this the right way and I will stumble from time to time as I try to get up to speed. I appreciate all of your understanding in this...

Here are some of the responses to my posting and my follow-ups...

TDaniel offered the following suggestion for a chat topic: How about "What ruins a turning club"? I did a demo at a club that had been around for several years and they were down to about 10 regular attendees/members. At the time we were just getting our club started and we already had many more members than that even though we are in a much smaller town. I asked one of the guys there why the club was so small and his answer was an eye-epener for me. He said they had 2 good turners in the club and the rest were basically beginners. He said the 2 had no purpose in the club other than to outdo each other each month on the show and tell table and they would not share the "how to" or technique with other members for fear that their "opponent" would learn the technique. I am sure there are other things that can ruin a club or at least take the fun out of it. Subject for a topic?