Hand Tools Archive

Subject:
LN 62 comparo in ribboned khaya

David Weaver
I have a test piece of khaya (it'll be a guitar body at some point). blanks like this aren't always on ebay, but when they are and appropriate density, I get them (more often two piece flatsawn or one piece flatsawn - the ribboned blanks make a nicer looking guitar).

I think most people wouldn't be able to plane this without using a very steep plane - one ribbon goes one direction, the next goes another. I had trouble with this kind of stuff when I was a beginner, and working with a 60 degree angle or something on much of this from rough would be miserable. It can be done, but it's miserable.

A 55 degree flat edge will tear this out some in a heavy cut but clean it up in a fine cut. It's not quite as bad as the cocobolo blank that I showed, but the problem is different - the ribbons facing away will be fuzzy if you just choose to scrape or plane them with a really steep angle.

I came up with a freehand (but with an angle reference) hone of the iron with a diamond hone totaling about 50 degrees, and then a brisk buff on the yellowcake. I think this equates to about 50 degrees. The beauty of using the buffer for this instead of going to a guide is that it's a lot faster. My angle guides are just a triangular gap that I used to use to stuff an iron under while it resided on an eclipse guide. I don't use them (obviously), but you can stick an iron under one freehand and then lift a little and have a pretty reliable angle (but it can also be done well enough by eye). The importance is that the sharpening cycle time is cut and with a bevel up plane ,you'll be sharpening at least twice as often.

So, just as with 55 degrees, this yielded some fuzziness in the ribbons in a heavy cut, but a lighter pass (standard procedure) resulted in a really nice surface.

https://i.imgur.com/GmMpr0t.jpg