Hand Tools Archive

Subject:
before this gets too long (already did)..

David Weaver
..in the other post, more comments about mortising hard plane bodies because i have a lot of actual experience with it and plenty of failure to bring up.

It was popular when i first started woodworking to set a bunch of chisels up all the same, use them in a single task, and then declare the ones that held up less well as failures. I did the same thing and moved toward harder chisels.

When I started mortising plane bodies with a heavier chisel, then everything set up normally just didn't tolerate, and what i'd gravitated toward (japanese chisels - an imai timber framing chisel that I bought for planes in this case) set up at a fairly blunt bevel failed spectacularly. so I made it steeper until it tolerated the mortising and then eventually sold it. I tried it against an old american framing chisel (underhill or something) and that one held up as well as the japanese chisel but was less work to keep in shape (and less valuable) - they both did OK once the edge was rolled a little. A fatter bevel and the mortising became a lot more work, but a little bit of the edge rolled was good enough and it was easily reversed when done.

So I followed up mortising a plane with a cheap stanley 720, which didn't do well with a flat bevel, and rolled the edge a little on it, just a small one (perhaps another 5 degrees) and it also held up fine whereas using it with a flat bevel at 30 degrees or so was an absolute failure. Make the whole bevel steeper, then the mortising gets harder (probably due to friction or wedging).

I figured by the time I'd experimented with all of this stuff, the difference in where the good chisels tolerated mortising vs. the not so good was just a couple of degrees difference in the small roll of the edge.