Hand Tools Archive

Subject:
Re: Hand Tool Aids (this topic)

TomD
"As a shop manager, I feel it's my duty to ensure we're producing quality products, as fast as we reasonably can. This allows us to remain competitive in today's economy. I doubt it was much different 150 years or more ago. There was always more than one shop around, and always someone willing to do it for less than you. I'm guessing you needed to focus on quality, with a reasonable price instead of competing on price alone. Unless you were lucky and perched at the top of the pyramid, doing work that few could, and even fewer were willing and able to pay for."

I think you want to be very careful about imposing ideas that weren't even universal in the united states till quite recently, to some period hundreds of years ago. For instance, Deming the post war (say that again) genius of quality and efficient manufacturing, had his ideas proven in Japan, and then they fed back here, maybe as late as the 80s in areas like autos. A major purpose of the guilds was to ensure that competition was minimized but that quality was held high. When Adam Smith came along and later was expanded upon by early 19th century economists, the result wasn't the invisible hand of the market, but mass protests that led to unions. When the first sewing machines were used to replace hand work, it led to violent confrontations.