Hand Tools Archive

Re: I'm struggling to figure out...

Whooaaahh. That video is spectacular. You guys have done a really great service bringing this to us - THANK YOU!!! The papers made all these cases extremely well, but I agree that they were more somewhat less easy to work through (Warren will recall when he schooled me for reading it improperly a few years back).

However - David: your post seems to be suggesting that some of the other plane variables that seem to get much more 'discussion time' on the internet are now somehow less important. It almost seems like you see them as shams now. What the video proves is that a chipbreaker/subblade/cap iron CAN mitigate tearout in some instances - nothing more, nothing less.

For those who don't know me, I make infill planes for a living. So I suppose my analysis may be suspect to some, but I'm going to spell out my take on all this as clearly and precisely as I can so my point doesn't get shot down because of my possible biases.

For those uninterested in the long technical stuff to follow - my only point is to say that the video offers no reason at all to suggest that single-blade planes, higher-pitch angles, thicker blades, and premium planes are any less important, or any less of an improvement. I'd also like to make a somewhat detailed case for what the pertinent variables ARE, and why they matter.

As I formulate it for myself, there are 3 basic factors at work in a plane: the sharpness of the edge doing the cutting, the rigidity of the edge transport, and the fiber manipulations. What this experiment does exceptionally well is to eliminate all of the variables other than the fiber manipulation due to the chip breaker.

I believe the sharpness was held consistent from test to test - I don't remember the mechanism for this as it's been several years since I read the papers, but I'm sure it was dealt with.